RED ALLOVER

Let me tell you about the quilt I’m working on. Remember the subtitle of my Feathered Star Quilt Blocks I book: Really Hard Blocks That Take a Long Time to Make? Well I’m at it again, only with a California Star Medallion quilt that will take a “really long time to make.” The center block is not so hard and I made it a while back, but the first border has 40 three-inch Ohio Stars. I seem to be making 4 blocks a day. The next border is a double-sawtooth and has 200 two-triangle squares. That’s a lot of bias-strips. Then I plan a sampler border of fourteen 12” blocks that all involve two triangle squares: some are new Feathered Star designs, some are traditional blocks that just have lots of triangles. The design involves lattices with about another 250 two-triangles squares

9"centerCAFSIMG_1932

I’m apparently not over the red and white craze inspired by the red and white quilt exhibit in New York a few years ago — and I do love my red stash. I realize some of the prints I’m pulling for this very scrappy quilt are from the 1980s: is that good or bad? The other reds are from my fabric lines Staples V, Raspberry & Cream, and Chocolate & Cherry.Red:whiteFQP

On my website, I put all the red prints I have for sale together on a page called RED ALLOVER. If you go there, along with yardage, you will also see a RED AND WHITE Fat Quarter Pack that I’ve put together to help you build and maintain your stash of red and white prints. I can’t explain it, but as I use up my old red and white prints, I get a little sad that I won’t “have” them anymore — thus the push to find more.http://www.marshamccloskey.com/redallover.html

Here are some other red and white quilts for your enjoyment.

Radiant Star with Tulip Applique

Radiant Star

EnglishIvy6sm

English Ivy

Feathered Star Sampler. jp copy

Feathered Star Sampler

ChamblieRed

Star of Chamblie Sampler

 

 

2 thoughts on “RED ALLOVER

  1. Absolutely awesome. You are the queen of Feathered Stars and I have made only one, but love it to pieces. Doing one in red would be fun, add to my list of “must makes”

    Thanks for sharing,

    Carol Sutton

Leave a comment